Skip to main content
International Partnerships


Kenya is a lower middle-income country, an economic hub in the Horn of Africa, a front-runner of in the green and digital transition, and a security provider for the region. Kenya is especially taking a regional and continental lead on climate change adaptation and mitigation, as showcased with the organisation of the African Climate Action Summit in Nairobi in September 2023.

Our partnership

The EU and Kenya are committed to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) of the 2030 Agenda and to the Paris Agreement on climate. The European Union has a long-standing partnership with Kenya, which is comprehensive and encompasses the economic, security, political and social sectors. The successful conclusion, in June 2023, of the political negotiations for the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) between the EU and Kenya is a steppingstone towards further deepening the bilateral trade relationship with Kenya.

Team Europe in Kenya brings together the European Union, the European Investment Bank, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden.

The EU and its Member States are committed to supporting the country’s main objectives and its long-term development blueprint: Kenya Vision 2030. The blueprint aims at creating “a globally competitive and prosperous country with a high quality of life by 2030”. Kenya should turn into “a newly-industrialising, middle income country providing a high quality of life to all its citizens in a clean and secure environment".

The EU-Kenya partnership is exemplary of what Global Gateway means in practice. In Kenya, it focusses on public and private investments in the green and digital transitions, to help  reach the country’s full economic potential and to mitigate the effects of climate change.

The EU is the largest destination for Kenyan exports, with a value of €1,3 billion in 2021. The production of goods exported to the EU sustains more than 500.000 jobs in Kenya.

The EU Multiannual Indicative Programme (MIP) for Kenya covers the period 2021-2027 and allocates €324 million for 2021-2024.

8 MARCH 2022
Multiannual Indicative Programme 2021-2027 for Kenya – annex
23 OCTOBER 2023
Multiannual action plan 2023-2024 for Kenya
Addendum 2023 to the annual action plan 2022 for Kenya
18 AUGUST 2022
Annual action plan 2022 for Kenya
16 DECEMBER 2021
Annual action plan 2021 for Kenya

Our flagship initiatives

Green Deal - Kenya is already a pioneer in the green transition, with over 80% of its energy being generated from renewables. Team Europe supports over 150 projects worth 3.47 billion which are boosting Kenya’s green transition, from electric urban mobility to green hydrogen.

  • Reduced emission of greenhouse gases - adoption of sustainable approaches to production, consumption, recycling, waste management and logistics
  • Agri-food systems value chains - adapted to improve livelihoods, resilience and reduce impact on environment
  • Increased generation of and access to renewable energy
  • Conservation and restoration of natural capital and biodiversity
  • Promote sustainable investments in private sectors, urbanisation, and infrastructure.

Participating Member States are Germany, Italy, France, Sweden, Portugal, Denmark, The Netherlands, Finland, Slovakia, Ireland, Austria, in addition to the EIB and the EU.

Human Centred Digitalisation - over 30 Team Europe projects worth €430 million are boosting digital connectivity, enhancing digital skills and digital governance.

  • Reduce Digital Gap - Underserved populations obtain better access to social services (e.g. schools); SME’s and social services benefit from improved digital infrastructure
  • Leapfrog digital economy transformation - digital skills are improved; the digital and innovation ecosystem caters for business and job creation and emerging technologies are leveraged for socio-economic benefit
  • Open and inclusive digital governance - inclusive online public service delivery, with secure and open e-government systems and standards. Democracy in the digital environment is protected, with improved accountability and access to justice.

Participating Member States are Germany, Italy, France, Sweden, Belgium, Slovakia, Netherlands. Estonia, Croatia, Austria, Czech Republic, in addition to the EIB and the EU.

The success of the flagships is supported through enablers in the areas of youth, gender, governance and access to finance.

24 OCTOBER 2023
EU-Kenya country projects

Contact point